New Music Highlights – Aukai, Evelinn Trouble, A Winged Victory For The Sullen


Dear friends,

Welcome back to the next instalment of the finetunes weekly highlight!

The Colorado based  producer and composer Markus Sieber aka Aukai releases the 2nd album on his label Aukai Music. “Branches of Sun” was recorded in Berlin and Colorado with an impressive ensemble including Anne Müller, who already worked for Nils Frahm and Agnes Obel. The album also includes Remixes by Ben Lukas Boysen from Erased Tapes.

A Winged Victory  For The Sullen consists of Adam Bryanbaum Wiltzie, former member of Stars of the Lid, and Emmy Award winning classical composer and pianist Dustin O’Halloran. Their new single “Long May It Sustain” is the first track taken from the upcoming Erased Tapes 10th Anniversary Compilation, which will feature 20 completely new tracks which the artists recorded together in the renowned Vox Ton Studios in Berlin.

Furthermore the Berlin based artist Evelinn Trouble releases the first single of her upcoming EP on Radicalis. With no lack of drama „Monstruous“ starts off with a signature motive that sounds like the TV got stuck on the Disney Channel, showing a rerun of „Sleeping Beauty“ in slow motion. Over a collage of old ragtime samples and icy keyboard layers, Evelinn Trouble tells the tale of romance from another time, with a clarity in her performance that seems to border on detachment. „Monstruous“, like all the songs from the upcoming EP „Hope Music“ was written and self-produced over the course of two years in several bedrooms, hotelrooms and rehearsal rooms on the road of Trouble’s journey. A shiny, big sounding pop anthem, made from scraps and pieces of memory on her laptop.

Apetizer and blast from the past:

Further interesting releases can be found below in the form of Boris Smith ,Station 17, Black River Delta and more.


Your finetuners

Branches of Sun (Aukai Music)

A Winged Victory For The Sullen
Long May It Sustain (Erased Tapes)

Evelinn Trouble
Monstruous (Radicalis)

GoodLuck & Boris Smith
Be Yourself (Get Lucky Records)
Electronic, Pop
The South African artist GoodLuck teams up with Dutch  producer Boris Smith for their fist Radio single on Get Lucky Records.

Arms and Sleepers
Dead Dogs Don’t Bite (Pelagic Records)
Electronic, Trip Hop
Trip Hop News from the Boston based project Arms and Sleepers with “Dead Dogs Don’t  Bite ” on Pelagic Records.

Station 17
Blick (Bureau B)
Electronica, Krautrock
Imagine a remake of Miami Vice in the Hanseatic port of Hamburg, gleaming automobiles weaving through the bustling city, neon signs buzzing overhead. Our protagonist resembles the entertainer Helge Schneider, screeching the tyres of his white Maserati convertible. The car radio blasts out the smoothly pulsating sound of Station17 as we cruise round town – our destination, the new album “Blick”, released by Station 17, comprising musicians with and without disabilities on Hamburg’s Bureau B.

Pöbel MC & Milli Dance
Soli-Inkasso (Audiolith)
Hip Hop
Collaboration of Waving The Guns’ Milli Dance and Mob MC from the Upstruct Camp for the new album Soli-Inkasso on Audiolith.

Richard Koch Quartett
Wald (Contemplate)
Most recently, the quartet has participated in the production of the newest Nils Frahm album. Today they present their new Album “Wald” on Contemplate.

Black River Delta
Vol. II (Radicalis)
The Swedish desert rock trio Black River Delta proudly present their second album “Vol. II” on Radicalis.